Thoughts on Commitment


I have a lot of hobbies. Which is not to say that I pick up a new hobby and drop the old ones. I tend to cycle through my hobbies, coming back the the old ones even if it's been a while.

I can be a little like this with people, too.

It's not that I'm not committed to things, it's that you can't maintain a high level of committment to everything and everyone. But I want to be. I try to be. There is a part of me that wants to know everything and do everything, just because I'm fascinated by almost everything. I'm constantly taking on new projects - like this website - and then not following through.

I follow through eventually. Just not consistently. Do you know what I mean? If you send me a letter, I have every intention of replying. It may take me a week, it may take a year, but I'll send you that letter. Though it probably won't be quite so relevant anymore.

How do you decide what to commit to? I don't know how that process works. But I know that I make decisions about priority every day. When did my best friend become my best friend? I don't know. But I decided that I wanted to be best friends, and we got there. I decided that I wanted to be a writer, so I'm always writing, or thinking about writing. I decided that playing piano keeps me emotionally sane, so I must always live somewhere with a piano.

How do you decide what and who to commit to? Drop me a line.

February 14, 2015

"Love, above all things, is a commitment to your choice."

back to the blog