re: jealousy

“Sometimes you have to go on when you don't feel like it, and sometimes you're doing good work when it feels like all you're managing is to shovel shit from a sitting position.”

― Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

I've been thinking about this quote a lot in the past few days, because writing has felt like such a slog. But today, miraculously, I looked at what I wrote and it had a shape to it. It had a little beauty.

Do I feel better because I've found some success in my writing? Yes, undoubtedly.

Does that make it easier to be happy for her? Yes, indubitably.

So let's consider this a note to self, so that the next time I'm jealous, I can look back on it. It's easy to be there for your friends when they're having a tough time. Harder to be around when they're finding success - especially if you aren't. I know this, and you know this. So why is it so hard?

Maybe it's because a little bit of jealousy is a great motivator. If you don't give in to rage, or defeat, you might find that a little bit of jealousy is what you need to get up, get going, get...happy.

“Writing isn't about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it's about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It's about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy.”

― Stephen King, On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

3 November 2015
Thanks to Stephen King for the good advice. It got me through.

back to the blog