banging on doors, shouting, "here again!"

a summer of community organizing

a little update on my work

Being an outreach organizer feels a lot like running around, knocking on people's doors. A few people invite you inside for a cup of tea. Some point you to their neighbour down the street. Many stand in the doorway and listen.
A lot of people don't answer the door.

I haven't been literally going around knocking on doors - I've been calling and emailing, visiting offices or setting up meetings in neutral spaces. I've met all kinds of people, from program directors to volunteer staff, and been treated more like a grown-up than I ever have before.

The point of all this running around was simple: to meet with a group of youth and conduct a listening campaign, basically a 45 minute discussion about the challenges people are facing and the action we could take to address them. (Here's a little handout I made with some more information.)

On Monday, I'll finally have the chance to do that and put all my learning into practice.
Wish me luck.

August 5, 2016

back to the blog